Whether you are not having as many sales as you expected or you just want to take a break from all the busyness that an Amazon seller has, no matter what your reason is, you are looking for a way to delete your seller account. And the truth is that it is very simple, but to do it there are several steps that you must take into account.
Please keep on reading, as we will will analyze in detail the steps to follow and the alternative solutions if they do not work. Pay close attention below:
Steps to delete your Amazon seller account
The following are the steps to follow to delete your Amazon account the right way:
- Make sure you have processed all the orders you have pending in your account.
- You have to wait a minimum of 90 days for your account to finish the AZ claim period to also ensure that your account balance is zero.
- Take the time to complete all transactions for your buyers.
- It is important to make sure that Amazon has all your current bank account details up to date so that you can receive the final payment from Amazon.
- Check well and if you have any inventors left, send a request to get rid of them or return them before you close your Amazon seller account.
- Once you have completed the above steps to the letter, you can now click on the “Contact Us” page.
- Now select the “Close your account” tab, fill out the form you will be shown and submit the request.
Once you submit the request to cancel your account, you will receive confirmation from the Amazon team via email. If a problem arises, the company will send you an email explaining why your account cannot be canceled and will specify the necessary actions to take to solve the problem.
More information on this post under Amazon Help.
Now, what happens after I close my Amazon seller account?
You must handle this information even before closing it because once you close it you will no longer be able to avail yourself of the following benefits:
- Deleting your account will also delete your listings. Therefore, there will no longer be any reviews, comments, or images displayed on Amazon associated with your products.
- You will no longer be able to process returns or refunds on closed accounts.
- All of your Amazon account histories will be completely deleted.
- You will not be able to access your Amazon gift card or credit balance after your account has been deleted.
How to temporarily disable my Amazon Seller Account
Once you have closed your Amazon account, there’s no turning back. You will not be able to reactivate your Amazon seller account. In addition to this, you will not be able to re-open an account with the same business name.
Now let’s say you don’t want to close business for good. If you want to take a break and not permanently cancel your seller account, you can instead opt for the following alternative options:
Downgrade the account to individual
Simply downgrade the account to a Personal Seller Account (individual selling plan) under your account plan settings, on your Seller Central Settings.
- Log in to your Seller Central Account
- Go to Settings > Account Info
- Under “account management” click on the link “Downgrade Account”
You can always switch to the PRO account again in the future.
Switch to vacation mode
Amazon’s vacation mode is an excellent option for sellers who want to take a break from work. This tool allows you to deactivate your ads for a predetermined period. This way sellers will be able to protect themselves from negative comments that users might write to them for not responding. Amazon’s vacation mode works in two ways:
- If you are the one who handles all the orders on your account, Amazon’s vacation mode allows you to deactivate your ad. This usually requires 36 hours for it to be removed from the list of websites, and you can reactivate your account whenever you wish.
- If it is Amazon that is responsible for fulfilling your orders, vacation mode allows you to keep your listing active, so your product will continue to sell and generate revenue while you enjoy your break away. However, you will still need to take the time to check your performance and customer messages to make sure everything is working accordingly.
Here’s how to start vacation mode on Amazon:
- Visit Seller Central, go to settings, and then select “Account Information.”
- Click on the Holiday settings, select “Inactive” and submit the request.
Close your Amazon listings
If the case is that you are unable to fulfill the order due to lack of product supply or any technical issues you are having, instead of canceling your account, you can simply close the Amazon listing. This is what will allow you to give you time to resolve technical issues or find new suppliers for your products without losing your Amazon seller account. To close your listing, follow the steps below:
- Visit the Seller Central page
- Select the products you would like to stop listing.
- Click on the “Action” menu and from there select “Closed Listings”.
Deleting your Amazon product listings
If you now have some products that you no longer wish to sell or make changes to the title, you can delete those product listings. To delete the product listing follow the steps below:
- Visit Seller Central and click on “Inventory”. Now select the products you want to edit.
- Click on the “Edit” menu and, in the drop-down menu, select the option “Delete product and listing”.